Senior Advisory Group

Connected to the Global Deal is a group of six senior advisors. Their role is to provide strategic advice to the partnership and to guide the development of the Global Deal Flagship report which is published every second year. The senior advisors also act as advocates for the partnership and participate in Global Deal meetings, seminars and other activities.


Olivier Blanchard is the Fred Bergsten Senior Fellow at the Peterson Institute and Robert Solow Professor of Economics Emeritus at MIT. He spent most of his career at MIT, but moved to Washington in 2008 to be the IMF’s Chief Economist (Economic Counsellor and Director, Research Department), a post he retired from in 2015. His research interests are in macroeconomics, including a wide set of issues that range from the role of monetary policy to the nature of speculative bubbles, to the nature of the labour market and the determinants of unemployment, to transition in former communist countries, to the global financial crisis. He is the author of many books and articles, including two textbooks in macroeconomics, one at the graduate level with Stanley Fischer and one at the undergraduate level. He is a past editor of the Quarterly Journal of Economics and the NBER Macroeconomics Annual and founding editor of American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics.  He is a past chair of the MIT economics department, a fellow and past council member of the Econometric Society, a member of the American Academy of Sciences, and the President-elect of the American Economic Association.


Sharan Burrow is the General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC), the world’s largest trade union body with a membership of 175 million workers in 153 countries and territories and has 308 national affiliates. Burrow was elected General Secretary of the ITUC in June 2010, after having served as President of ITUC since 2006. Prior to this, she held the position of ITUC President since its Founding Congress in Vienna (November 2006) and the position of ICFTU President since its 18th World Congress in Miyazaki (November 2004). She is the first woman to have held any of these positions.


Natalia Brzezinski is the CEO of Symposium Stockholm and the Brilliant Minds Foundation, a two-day thought leadership-summit in Stockholm founded by Spotify founder Daniel Ek and Ash Pournouri, and a 365-day-year-round movement, Natalia Brzezinski curates a global community of creative entrepreneurs who want to make change and cutting-edge innovation together. Natalia, is an experienced moderator, journalist, and communications strategist focused on building dynamic dialogue across numerous sectors and cultures. She has held senior roles in the U.S. Senate Press Office for Senator John Kerry, to The Huffington Post, to the U.S. Embassy in Sweden and is a Senior International advisor to Kreab, a strategic communications and public affairs firm headquartered in Stockholm with a global footprint in Europe, Asia and Latin America.  Natalia is also the host of the new weekly podcast series, The Brilliant Minds Podcast, which is a Spotify original in collaboration with ABC News, in which she holds open and honest conversations with leading U.S. and international entrepreneurs, politicians, artists and disruptors that share a passion for leveraging creativity for social impact. She is a Global-Editor-at-Large at Thrive, the new lifestyle and media platform launched by Arianna Huffington.  She has been blogging for The Huffington Post in 2009 on Millennials and generation change, social entrepreneurship and women’s empowerment with a strong focus on Sweden and the Nordic region.


Sabina Dewan is the President and Executive Director of the JustJobs Network, which she co-founded with John Podesta in 2013. She is also a Non-Resident Fellow with the Carsey School of Public Policy at the University of New Hampshire. Formerly, Ms. Dewan was a Senior Fellow and Director for International Economic Policy at the Center for American Progress. Ms. Dewan’s research focuses on the role of quality employment in building equitable economies around the globe. She has worked on a range of economic issues from finding solutions to youth employment challenges, to examining the impact of globalization, trade, and value chains on employment. Ms. Dewan’s efforts aim at making the economic case for productive employment and just working conditions for all. Her career has spanned continents, taking her from the private sector and the World Bank in the United States, the International Labour Organization in Switzerland, and the European Commission in Belgium, to grassroots organizations in India. She is a frequent media contributor, having appeared in print and television outlets including The Wall Street Journal, Huffington Post, US News and World Report, as well as CNN, BBC, and Al-Jazeera. Sabina splits her time between Washington, D.C. and New Delhi.


Jason Furman, is a nonresident senior fellow, of  the Peterson Institute for International Economics since January 2017. He served as a top economic adviser to President Barack Obama during the previous eight years, including as the 28th chair of the Council of Economic Advisers from August 2013 to January 2017, acting as both Obama’s chief economist and a member of the cabinet. Furman played an important role in most of the major economic policies of the Obama administration. In addition, Furman helped make the Council of Economic Advisers a thought leader on a wide range of topics including labor markets, competition policy, and macroeconomics. Prior to joining the Obama administration, Furman held a variety of public policy and research posts. In public policy, Furman worked at both the Council of Economic Advisers and National Economic Council during the Clinton administration and at the World Bank. In research, Furman was a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution and at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities. He has served in visiting positions at various universities, including New York University’s Wagner Graduate School of Public Policy, and has conducted research in a wide range of areas, such as fiscal policy, tax policy, health economics, Social Security, and domestic and international macroeconomics. Furman has authored numerous articles in scholarly journals and periodicals and is the editor of two books on economic policy. He holds a PhD in economics from Harvard University.


José Antonio Ocampo is co-director of Banco de la República (Colombia´s central bank), Professor (on leave) from  Columbia University, and Chair of the Committee for Development Policy, an expert committee of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Prior Mr Ocampo has served in a number of positions in the United Nations and the Government of Colombia, most notably as United Nations Under-Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs; Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC); Minister of Finance and Public Credit, Chairman of the Board of Banco del República; Director of the National Planning Department (Minister of Planning); Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Executive Director of FEDESARROLLO.Ocampo received his BA in economics and sociology from the University of Notre Dame and his PhD in economics from Yale University. Economic Association, and a member of the American Academy of Sciences.